By Lisa Cherry

Lydia is our precious little seven year old treasure—our ninth born, sandwiched between four brothers, three older and one younger.  They said she would turn out to be a tomboy and I was so concerned she would live up to their prediction.  So I pulled out the stops to prove them wrong.                      

For her sixth birthday, she was treated to the most elaborate princess party I could conjure up with every pink accessory I could find.  Party dress…taffeta table runner…tiara…princess sash…princess wall hanging…nail polish…Cinderella comforter…delicate pastries.  She was thrilled!  And since that day in 2008, I have not heard a single tomboy comment.  Aha!  Mission accomplished!

Daddy came home recently with a consolation gift for the princess who was recovering from the stomach flu.  I was not a bit surprised when a princess coloring book emerged from his prize bag.  The center of the book contained a very creative page for the little girl owner to write the credentials of her very own imaginary princess.  Since Lydia was a beginning reader, I became her scribe.   The first blank said:  “Princess Name______.”  When I read the line to her I expected her to say “Cinderella” or “Esther.”  But instead she looked up at me soberly and said, “Mommy, the only princess I know is ME!”

I stifled my laugh when I realized she was serious.  Wow, her mommy and daddy said she was a princess.  Her wall hanging said she was a princess.  She was certain that she was a princess.

My mind looked ahead to picture Lydia just five years later.   When her dress up clothes are all packed away, who will she listen to?  What sign on what wall will she be looking at?  Will she still believe her daddy when he calls her his princess?  Or will she, like her big sister Kalyn, began to believe the messages of eating disordered teen models and teen stars?  Will Lydia change her wall hanging from Princess to Hottie?

A spiritual war is raging for the hearts and souls of our precious daughters. Light verses darkness. God versus devil.  The battle is not symbolic; it is real.  And as a mom who nearly lost her first born daughter in that war, I know firsthand the importance of fighting to win!  We saw the enemy’s best tactics at work against our girl:  sexual abuse, teen rebellion, teen depression, eating disorders, cutting, and thoughts of suicide.  But we also saw God’s hand of mercy sweep down to deliver and heal.

When Kalyn was seven, I never dreamed we would see such battle.  I walked into it unprepared.  With Lydia, our battle will go very differently.  What’s changed?  Now I am prepared.

Are you prepared?  It’s my passion to help you arm yourself for whatever the enemy tries to throw at your family.  Kalyn and I have written a book about our battle, Kalyn’s Secret: Every Parent’s Battle to Save Their Children. In it we share our story and about how we fought back. You can learn more about it at http://www.kalynssecret.com/

About frontlinemama

I am a mom who is passionate about equipping moms and parents to help their children through the challenging times we live in today.

3 responses »

  1. […] Your daughter needs to know she is a princess….not a hottie! […]

  2. […] Your daugh­ter needs to know she is a princess….not a hot­tie! […]

  3. Great post, Lisa! I can’t wait for the book to come out. My girls are 8, 7, and 5, and I am ready to arm myself for the battle NOW. The only reason I know the importance of being prepared for the battle is because I was not much different from Kalyn as a teen. I do not want that same life for my girls!

Leave a Reply

