Let them fail.  Now that is an encouraging word, isn’t it?!  But I constantly need to be reminded of how God leads me to learn some of my greatest lessons by allowing me…. to fail!  Failure has a way of teaching us what success cannot teach.

I had that experience just this morning.  One of my children failed to do some homework.  The moment of accountability was at hand.  Everything in my mother’s heart wanted to reach out and save him from the pain.  I could easily think of a few ways to at least soften the blow.  But I sensed my Father’s leading to let the failure come.  And it did!  And then came a sweet moment that would determine the full learning in my son’s life.

My husband, Doug, got involved.  His words were straight, clear, and corrective.  No more homework procrastination or excuses would be tolerated.  Eventually, the words penetrated to a remorseful young heart.  So Doug then sent a lifeline of encouragement to our boy. “Son, you have great giftings and passions.  Your mom and I are proud of you.  It is good to have the opportunity to work out your character now.  We believe in you, son.  You are going to make this adjustment and walk on to greater things!”

The tears dried up and a resolute look came to our boy’s face.  He had heard his father’s heart.

Frontline Moms Tip of the Week:  Let them fail.  And then be their best fan club to get back in the race!

About frontlinemama

I am a mom who is passionate about equipping moms and parents to help their children through the challenging times we live in today.

One response »

  1. freetolive10 says:

    I love the way the child can be involved in the correction—the thing that is being corrected is separated from the child and the child can join the parents in “working out” his character together. Very encouraging and so simply stated even I can do it. Thanks Lisa! : )

Leave a Reply

