Ordering up my household for Mom’s weekend departure for Canada’s Acquire the Fire event was a big deal yesterday.  I carefully thought of all the possible household needs.  Hair mousse was at the top of several teen lists.  The menus are planned, and the hamburger pre-browned.  I was beginning to gain some confidence that my family would handlemy 22 city tour with ease.  Anyway, I knew God was assuring me over and over again we are in the center of His will.

And then it happened.  A random moment of motherhood emotionality, lack of faith ….and insecurity.  Several of the children were gathered in the kitchen.  Maybe they would get so used to my travels, that no one would even be bonded to Mom any more, my insecure side pondered.

And before I could think I heard my mouth say: “If anyone misses Mom this weekend, I will bring them a special prize.”  To which I got my desired response.  “Oh, mom, we’ll miss you!  It won’t be the same without you, Mom.  We’ll be OK, Mom!”  Complete with hugs.  I felt totally self-indulgent.

My moment was fleeting as my 14 year old immediately piped in with her teen response.  “Mom, that is manipulation!” she said.  Ahhhh. I had taught her well!  “And besides.  I kinda like it when you are gone, and I get to be the alpha dog.”

Maybe this whole experience is designed to teach us all many lessons.  Especially Mom.  And especially all my alpha dogs!

More on the trip later……..

About frontlinemama

I am a mom who is passionate about equipping moms and parents to help their children through the challenging times we live in today.

5 responses »

  1. […] This is the last of the ten part series on my ministry trip to Ontario.  In the previous post I spoke to the Canadian parents of teens, and marveled at the Lord’s faithfulness to us.  In case you missed the beginning, here’s the first post. […]

  2. […] post, cold temperatures, wind and rain could not dampen my enthusiasm.  Here’s where to find part one if you missed the start of this seven part […]

  3. […] the conference arena, and learned that our meeting location had been changed.  Start with the first post if you’re new to the […]

  4. […] open the conference, and discovered the reason for Lilibeth’s crankiness.  You can start with part one if you need to catch […]

  5. Karen Hardin says:

    Thumbs up to those alpha dogs! They are a huge component that enables it all to work while Mom is gone. But I’m also all for those self indulgent moments! Mom’s need to know they are needed. Praying for you!

Leave a Reply

