I just love the book of Proverbs.  Over the years I have often read the proverb of the day by simply turning to the chapter of Proverbs that matches the date of the month.

I have found sowing these wisdom words in my heart time and time again has indeed produced a harvest in my life and in my parenting.  So on Wednesdays we are going to begin a new routine here at Frontlinemoms.

We are going to take two minutes to soak up God’s Wisdom.  I will give you a brief passage to meditate on with my commentary for the day.  It will work.  I can guarantee it!  Because God’s word has power and never returns void!  So let’s store up some new wisdom for our kids…and us.

Proverbs 3:27  Do not withhold good from those who deserve it, when it is in your power to act.

How often I find myself trying to balance my roles as mother and wife with my many other roles—housekeeper, cook, chauffeur, and writer to name a few.  My kids do something good right in front of my eyes …like finish a chore or help a little brother, but I am too distracted with my “important work” to notice.

Or like today.  My husband came through the door with an attempt at an embrace, but I was busy reaching half-heartedly toward the spoon in the big pot on the stove and remembering my last disappointment with his actions.

Aren’t those kinds of daily scenes what this verse is after?  Today it is in my power to act.  Many times and many ways.  I can give a word of encouragement.  A simple “good job!”  Or an extra hug. I can smile or laugh.  Withholding good to balance out my own frustrations is never a good idea and violates the wisdom in this verse!

Lord, help me to notice those who deserve good from me today.  Whether it is my child, my teen, my boss or the check out lady.  Let me be the one with the blessing from You to bestow on those in my circle of reach.  Thanks Lord!  Amen.

Now meditate for 30 seconds on our Wednesday Wisdom verse:

Do not withhold good from those who deserve it, when it is in your power to act.  Proverbs 3:27 NIV

Like this post?  Follow @lisacherry9 on Twitter, or on Facebook at Frontline Moms and Kalyn’s Secret, or visit frontlinemoms.com to subscribe to receive an email when Lisa updates her blog. View the book trailer and buy Lisa and Kalyn Cherry’s book, Kalyn’s Secret today. And please help Lisa find other Frontline Moms by passing this on to a friend.   God is calling us to awaken the sleeping army!

About frontlinemama

I am a mom who is passionate about equipping moms and parents to help their children through the challenging times we live in today.

3 responses »

  1. Tara says:

    Wow, can I ever relate to this one! Life can be so busy at times. Looking forward to Wednesdays on your blog

  2. Scott Davis says:

    I also find in life that most folks are far more likely to complain than compliment. I’m far from perfection in this area, but what I try to do is when someone really does a good job in the business setting, to express my appreciation, and where possibly to pass that on to his/her management. I include specifics of how this person stands out, or how something was particularly well done. I can tell by the responses that it is not only very appreciated, it’s is likely all too infrequently received.

Leave a Reply

