Why does it seem that holding my tongue seems almost painful? It’s as if all those free flowing thoughts and emotions are warring to be put on the air waves.

Perhaps it is because I have a habit, developed in toddlerhood, of enjoying hearing my own voice. It seems that my flesh is always looking for a way to dominate and let off steam, and it comes out through my mouth.

And it seems that giving my mouth unrestrained freedom can certainly get me into a pile of trouble…fast.

I found some help in Proverbs chapter 10, which could be subtitled “the mouth chapter.” Eleven of the 32 verses give some sort of warning about the dangers of the tongue. Reading it was kind of like listening to a series of fire alarms sounding: Warning! Warning! Warning!

Verse 19 caught my attention: When words are many, sin is not absent, but he who holds his tongue is wise.

Warning well taken.

As I write this I am sitting on a plane traveling with two of my daughters. Do you know how many words three women can generate in one trip across town, let alone one trip across the country?

I’m sure we could smooth out the turbulence and have a more fruitful trip if we took Proverbs 10:19 seriously.

So Lord, I know You are always leading me into the truth of Your ways. And this verse has a promise I am not interested in claiming. Sin.  Lord, help me by the power of Your Spirit, to hold my tongue. For Your sake. For my sake. And for all those you have called me to listen to today!

Let’s spend 30 seconds meditating on our verse:

When words are many, sin is not absent, but he who holds his tongue is wise. Proverbs 10:19

Like this post?  Follow @lisacherry9 on Twitter, or on Facebook at Frontline Moms and Kalyn’s Secret, or visit frontlinemoms.com to subscribe to receive an email when Lisa updates her blog. View the book trailer and buy Lisa and Kalyn Cherry’s book, Kalyn’s Secret today. And please help Lisa find other Frontline Moms by passing this on to a friend.   God is calling us to awaken the sleeping army!

About frontlinemama

I am a mom who is passionate about equipping moms and parents to help their children through the challenging times we live in today.

One response »

  1. Doug says:

    Yes, in just a couple words…. “I agree!”

Leave a Reply

