When the phrase “Been there, done that, got the t-shirt” first became popular several years ago, I laughed along with everyone else. Thought it was clever. Thought I could identify with the sentiment.

So I tried it out with my own mouth. But immediately after I launched it, I was uncomfortable. Where did that come from? And then I knew.  It had come straight from a heart of pride.

Jesus made it clear that our words come from our own hearts. Sometimes I can almost feel those words wrestling in my heart, trying to overflow out of my mouth. Yeah, I know that already. I have that figured out. I don’t intend to listen to what anyone says on this. I’m done. 

No matter how neatly you stack it, this cynical, know-it-all line of thinking is dangerous!  I can trace most of my failures in life right back to a “Been there, done that, got the t-shirt” attitude.  God’s way is radically different. Proverbs 1:5 says: Let the wise listen and add to their learning, and let the discerning get guidance.

Actually I’ve got more to learn.  I need the guidance of the Holy Spirit.  I have not learned all I need to know about mothering, just because I have ten kids’ worth of experience.

I don’t always have the wisdom to honor my husband just because I have been married 29 years. I do not yet have perfect faith just because I have heard several sermons on Hebrews 11.

Lord, help me to be humble and tender-hearted toward all You still want to teach me. I repent of pride and arrogance. And I choose to listen, truly listen, that I may add to my learning.

Now let’s meditate for 30 seconds on this verse:

Proverbs 1:5 Let the wise listen and add to their learning, and let the discerning get guidance.

Each Wisdom Wednesday post is inspired by a verse from the chapter of Proverbs that corresponds to the posting date.

* * *

Like this post?  Follow Lisa on Twitter, or on Facebook at Frontline Moms and Kalyn’s Secret, or visit frontlinemoms.com to subscribe to receive an email when Lisa updates her blog. View the book trailer and buy Lisa and Kalyn Cherry’s book, Kalyn’s Secret today.  And please help Lisa find other Frontline Moms by passing this on to a friend.   God is calling us to awaken the sleeping army! 

About frontlinemama

I am a mom who is passionate about equipping moms and parents to help their children through the challenging times we live in today.

Leave a Reply

