The two lines appeared in the window, and I was absolutely shocked. As a 45-year-old mother of nine, and I had pretty well figured my childbearing years were over. My shock gave way to a crazy mixture of elation and fear.

Figuring out how to add one more child to our joyous home was no problem. Figuring out how to walk gracefully through this midlife pregnancy would be another story.

My tenth pregnancy was definitely a laugh from the word go. Last week I told you about a funny situation that happened at the supermarket near the end of this pregnancy. If you missed it, I invite you to read it here.

At first I assumed that I was having the unusual symptoms of that strange season I had entered call perimenopause. But then came the positive pregnancy test. I had been inwardly wishing for the blessing of another child, and now I was carry him. Instead of the change of life, I had a change in plans.

I remember one visit I had to the maternity care clinic. If you have ever been pregnant, you know the routine well. “Step on the scale. Please leave your monthly urine sample on the ledge above the bathroom sink.” I was highly skilled at filling my cup after years of practice.

Because of HIPAA privacy regulations, this particular office had a policy that no names were to be marked on the specimen cup. Instead I was instructed to label it with only with my date of birth.

That morning had been very busy for the nurses, and the ledge was full of specimens. As I added mine to the collection, I burst into laughter. Do you know how ridiculous my early 60s birth date looked amongst that row of 80s and 90s cups?

I laughed even louder when I realized what the next girl or woman might think. Some grandma went potty at her annual physical and thought she was supposed to leave a pregnancy urine sample?

Shopping for maternity clothes was another source of mirth, and a few tears I must confess. Imagine my 45-year-old abdomen, eight months pregnant and great with a child that would eventually weigh in at 9½ pounds. Now imagine it protruding from one of those tight, short maternity belly shirts. Believe me, it was a sight you wouldn’t want to see. I decided to special order.

I can look back and chuckle now. But what a blessing both the pregnancy and birth of Josiah was. Against all odds, I had nine months of total health, an easy, safe delivery, and a 100% healthy baby boy who has become the darling of the whole household.

God’s ways are prosperous and yes, He does have an amazing sense of humor.

Like this post?  Follow Lisa on Twitter, or on Facebook at Frontline Moms and Kalyn’s Secret, or visit frontlinemoms.com to subscribe to receive an email when Lisa updates her blog. View the book trailer and buy Lisa and Kalyn Cherry’s book, Kalyn’s Secret today.  And please help Lisa find other Frontline Moms by passing this on to a friend.   God is calling us to awaken the sleeping army!

About frontlinemama

I am a mom who is passionate about equipping moms and parents to help their children through the challenging times we live in today.

2 responses »

  1. freetolive10 says:

    You know I opened this quickly when I read the title…whew! : ) “Instead of the change of life, I had a change in plans.” Do you come up with these on your own? I love it!

  2. Doug says:

    Hi Honey,

    Thanks for carrying my precious babies and letting God use your vessel to produce our children. No one could have done it like you!

    Hubber

Leave a Reply

