This is my anger can*. Anger dumps into it whenever someone irritates me.

When I find the dirty socks dropped in the hall…again.
When nobody put their dishes in the dishwasher…again.
When somebody says a hurtful word to my son…again.

My anger can should have a warning label:  CAUTION—CONTENTS UNDER PRESSURE.  EXPLOSION HAZARD!

Oops, too late. Boom! My anger can explodes. I vent, releasing my feelings, and spraying anger on anyone and everyone nearby.

The explosion is messy. It demonstrates a lack of self-control. It’s a bad example for my children.

Then, I find my explosion in today’s wisdom search. Proverbs 29:11 says A fool gives full vent to his anger, but a wise man keeps himself under control.

This is not the script I want for my life!  All the parenting skills in the world will not cover for foolishness. Help me Lord! I cry. And He does.

I’ve read Proverbs 29:11 before, but today I am seeing something new in it. Perhaps it is the way I’m reading it with the emphasis on the word his.

Sometimes I have been guilty of having a pity party for myself. Lord, why am I having to deal with this anger? As if I’m the only one with an anger issue.

The longer I live, the more I notice that anger is simply a part of everyone’s experience, from babies to toddlers to teens to senior adults.

Anger is a warning sign. A signpost of injustice, or simply human irritation. The question isn’t what if I feel anger? The real question is what will I do with the anger I feel?

Giving full vent to anger is foolish, and fools have all sorts of troubles. You can see a few examples here, and here, and here.

God graciously offers us a better way: The way of wisdom. Anger will come, but it does not control me. Instead, I master it.

What would my new year look like if I gained a heart of wisdom and kept myself under control? I think that’s what I will ask God for in the new year.

Lord, I have spent enough time foolishly giving full vent to my anger in 2010. Will You help me, in 2011 to walk by the fruit of Your Holy Spirit of self-control? Teach me, Lord, the ways of wisdom that I may be quick to listen, slow to anger, and quick to forgive. My family needs my patience, and God, I am trusting You to grow me for Your glory.

Please take 30 seconds  to meditate on this verse, and let me know what you think about it too.  A fool gives full vent to his anger, but a wise man keeps himself under control Proverbs 29:11 

Each Wisdom Wednesday post is prompted by a verse from the chapter of Proverbs that corresponds to the posting date.

* The “anger can” is a word picture of Gary Smalley’s from his book Making Love Last Forever. It’s a great resource not only for married couples, but for anyone who’s ready to deal with their anger.

Photo courtesy of cinezi via stock.xchng

Like this post? Follow Lisa on Twitter, or on Facebook at Frontline Moms and Kalyn’s Secret, or visit frontlinemoms.com to subscribe to receive an email when Lisa updates her blog. View the book trailer and buy Lisa and Kalyn Cherry’s book, Kalyn’s Secret today. And please help Lisa find other Frontline Moms by passing this on to a friend. God is calling us to awaken the sleeping army!

About frontlinemama

I am a mom who is passionate about equipping moms and parents to help their children through the challenging times we live in today.

2 responses »

  1. Michelle says:

    That was an awesome post. It really convicted me and was just what the Lord wanted me to hear on this very day. Thanks so much!

    • Thanks so much for your comment. Isn’t it awesome how the Lord orchestrates our steps so we can hear HIS message for us? Blessings to you and your family. I noticed you are now following me on Twitter. I would love to get better acqauinted. Sounds like we have a lot in common. Lisa

Leave a Reply

