I do not know how I would manage my busy household without my fleet of crock pots. I personally think they are the greatest modern household invention.  Put the food in at 8:00 a.m. Cover and ignore. Open and eat at 6:00 p.m.

Why, you may ask, am I mentioning my crock pot as a Frontline Moms tip? Because the crock pot answers for me dozens of parenting excuses:

We are just too busy to cook dinner at home.

We didn’t have time for family dinner. No one has time to cook.

We had to go through the drive thru. I forgot to get anything together for dinner.

Today’s family needs the family dinner table. In our modern hustle bustle pace we need the comfort and respite of fellowship around a dinner table with the people who love us most. I know this and believe it.

So a few years ago I simply put my foot down and conquered my excuses. We will have pleasant family meals together as often as possible. Yes, I am a woman with a plan…and a copy of 1,001 Best Slow-Cooker Recipes.

Now we can regularly eat dinner together at home. The stew may not be very glamorous, but it’s seasoned with the enticing joy of connecting as a family.

Photo courtesy of Bubbels via stock.xchng

About frontlinemama

I am a mom who is passionate about equipping moms and parents to help their children through the challenging times we live in today.

2 responses »

  1. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Lisa & Kalyn Cherry, Lisa & Kalyn Cherry. Lisa & Kalyn Cherry said: Use the Crock Pot Method: Tip of the Week #16: http://wp.me/pUyXh-o9 […]

  2. charlotte pierson says:

    I think it makes alot of sense because my little sister does the same thing because they are so busy all the time.It is so great that families are getting around the dinner table,it’s a perfect time to find out what’s going on in your children’s lives.

Leave a Reply

