By Lisa Cherry

Josiah came galloping up to me, and with a huge grin, he flung his arms around my neck for a hug.  “Bye, Mom,” he said, “I get to go now!”  And with that he scurried on out the door.  

Kalyn was with me. She looked up with a puzzled expression.  “Mom, where is he going?  I thought he had a dentist appointment.”

“He does,” I replied.  “It’s his first visit, and it’s one of the highlights of his little life.”

We both chuckled as we pondered how anyone could be treating a trip to the dentist like a trip to Disneyland.  I personally would never get the two confused.

What a difference between Josiah’s first visit to the dentist and that of my first-born, Nathan, some 20 years ago!

Nathan screamed and cried his way through every dental visit and was not impressed with any of the trinkets the hygienist offered him.  Doug and I dreaded each appointment, and I am sure our own apprehension further influenced his behavior.

Josiah, on the other hand, has been deeply influenced by his big sister Lydia.  She’s undergone several significant dental therapies in her young, eight-year-old life.  When she faced a baby tooth root canal last year, her Daddy prepared her by telling her that all would be well.  And she believed him. 

The treasure box—the prize at the end of each dental visit—is what Lydia chooses to focus on.  She loves the dentist and begs for her turn to go. 

When his turn came, Josiah was primed and ready.  It was his fervent desire to experience that same bliss that Lydia had.  He went to his first dental visit with his attitude preset for a positive experience.  And just look at that smile!

Attitude. It’s what made all the difference between Nathan’s screams and Josiah’s enthusiasm.

Wow.  There is such power in choosing our own attitudes before we encounter life’s experiences.  Can I ever learn a lesson from my own kids!  How my Heavenly Father challenges me to follow Lydia’s example.  

Lisa, just trust Me.  Set your heart on peace.  Put a smile on your face.  There’s always a treasure box prize at the end of each venture in my Kingdom.  Just hop in the seat and let’s go.

Wouldn’t life be a lot more fun…and more successful…with a preset attitude of joy?

“Be joyful always…”  I Thessalonians 5:16

Photo of dental chair courtesy of jamsession via stock.xchng

About frontlinemama

I am a mom who is passionate about equipping moms and parents to help their children through the challenging times we live in today.

Leave a Reply

