Imagine being invited to dine with an important dignitary at an official state banquet.  The steaming trays of perfectly delectable dishes are paraded through the room on the arms of smartly dressed waiters. Fine steaks. Elaborate soufflés. Delicate pastries. Your mouth is watering just watching the show.

Thoughts begin to flood your mind. I hope I get one of those fuller plates. That table over there has extra rolls and butter. Can I get more than one dessert? Hey, no fair, our table should have been served next!

Can’t you almost feel the pull of your flesh just imagining such a scene?

I can because I have lived with what seems like a lifetime draw to the dinner table. I must not be the only American who struggles with this when we consider our national problem of obesity!

Perhaps Proverbs 23:1-3 gives us a helpful clue as to our collective problem.

When you sit to dine with a ruler, note well what is before you,
and put a knife to your throat if you are given to gluttony.
Do not crave his delicacies, for that food is deceptive.

Those rich, delicious, flesh-satisfying delicacies have a secret power of deception!

Why, I didn’t consider it that way. Just a couple more pieces of candy and I will be satisfied. That extra-large helping of fatty meat will give me an extra energy boost. I’ll just eat another piece of triple layer chocolate cake now because I’m going to exercise later.

What is a woman to do if her food is tricking her like this? The answer is found in verse 2. Put a knife to your throat if you are given to gluttony!

Knife? Gluttony? Couldn’t I just call it “emotional eating” and try to “cut back?”

There’s an old-fashioned word for what’s needed for this spiritual issue: Temperance. Maybe we need to revive this word as a Christian virtue worth pursuing!

I am seeing the breakthrough in my own life as I have dared to tackle a spiritual problem with a spiritual solution. Thanks, Doug, for leading us as a family to a season of fasting this year. Finally I can feel some of those lifelong food addiction strongholds falling. I am managing my food. It is no longer managing me. Amazing!

Turning from my sin of gluttony is increasing my peace and joy. And it isn’t even that hard anymore. Wow, that must be God moving in my life for all my other efforts have fallen to the wayside.

I dare you. Look at your food issues through the lens of God’s word. Repent of gluttony just as you would repent of drunkenness. Then watch God create a lifestyle of fasting and prayer and temperance in your life. I promise you, it is worth it!

Now let’s meditate on these key verses for 30 seconds:

When you sit to dine with a ruler, note well what is before you,
and put a knife to your throat if you are given to gluttony.
Do not crave his delicacies, for that food is deceptive. Proverbs 23:1-3

Here’s the BIGGER challenge.  How do I lead  my children AWAY from the problem of gluttony?  Another day’s post.  Ideas anyone?

Photo courtesy of ado12 via stock.xchng

Wisdom Wednesday posts are inspired by a verse from the chapter of Proverbs that corresponds to the posting date.

About frontlinemama

I am a mom who is passionate about equipping moms and parents to help their children through the challenging times we live in today.

One response »

  1. […] See Lisa’s post about gluttony here. […]

Leave a Reply

