It’s an awesome opportunity that we have, raising children in the midst of a hostile culture. I was speaking to a group of parents recently, and many of them did not seem convinced of this.

When I asked for a show of hands, nearly everyone in the room relabeled it as more of a fearful opportunity than an awesome one.

I understood their fears.  Drugs. Perversion. Promiscuity. Rebellion. Disease. Torment. All these seem to be lurking on our doorsteps.

But God is not sitting up in heaven wringing His hands in fear. Rather He is diligently surrounding His people with a protective shield:

He holds victory in store for the upright, he is a shield to those whose walk is blameless. Proverbs 2:7

But this verse does not say that His shield is available to all those who call upon Him. He Himself is a shield to those whose walk, i.e. one’s personal daily life, is blameless. Without dishonesty. Without perversity. Without willful transgression.

Living a life of integrity and righteousness has a protective reward! That is something to celebrate and embrace.

It’s like living my life in a force field. With no weapon formed against me being able to prosper.  With every fiery dart of the wicked one deflected.

If…I can walk a blameless life through His power!

God, teach me to walk in Your path of righteousness. Cause me, Lord, to be blameless in Your eyes because of Your precious blood, Jesus. I need Your cleansing afresh. My foot seems quick to step off Your holy path. But, God, this is my desire: to show You my love by obeying Your commands. Will You convict me quickly that I may gain a heart of wisdom? Thank You for Your precious mercy and grace. Help me to model Your holy living to those under my discipleship. For Your glory. Amen.

Take 30 seconds to meditate on our verse for the day:  He holds victory in store for the upright, he is a shield to those whose walk is blameless. Proverbs 2:7

Wisdom Wednesday posts are inspired by a verse from the chapter of Proverbs that corresponds to the posting date.

Photo courtesy of hadler via stock.xchng

About frontlinemama

I am a mom who is passionate about equipping moms and parents to help their children through the challenging times we live in today.

One response »

  1. Doug Cherry says:

    That is a powerful perspective change! An opportunity to raise our kids in this culture rather than a burden. When we see from God’s eyes we are always victorious!!

Leave a Reply

