Image courtesy of Jason Antony, stock.xchng

By Lisa Cherry

Arguments. Clashes. Cutting words. Petty disagreements. The afternoon wore on and on with grinding monotony.

Where were my normally sweet-natured children? Had they all taken some sort of “testy pill” that day that had transformed them into a collection of grouches?

It seemed I should have donned a referee shirt and carried a whistle when I dressed that morning for my post of mothering.

Finally my nerves had had enough. I called a family assembly in the living room. What mama-lecture would snap us out of our funk? I needed some heavenly inspiration, so I waited for a moment.

“I just wanted to ask you all a question today. Are you speaking to one another the way you would talk to your best friends? Would you be using these same words if Grandma were sitting here listening?”

Silence filled the room as shoulders shrugged, and eyes darted to the floor. A soft “No” escaped from their lips.

“Then why would you be treating your family, whom you love dearly, with less kindness, and less respect that you would offer to those you want to impress? In this family we will reserve the highest honor for those whom we love the most.”

Wow. That was good, I thought.

Proverbs 16:24 says Pleasant words are a honeycomb, sweet to the soul and healing to the bones. We should not reserve our pleasantest words just for company! They should be the life flow of a healthy home. We need to use them every day, sweet words that nourish the souls of our family members.

Why is it I sometimes have the same problem as my children? Treating my husband and kids with a familiarity or even harshness I would never use with precious guests.

One word comes to mind: selfishness.

Lord, help me to heed my own wise counsel reflected from Your word today. Help me choose the sweetest, most precious gifts in my life…my own family. Let me be such a remarkable trendsetter of kindness that my kids and even my own husband want to follow my lead. I yield to You, precious, sweet Holy Spirit. I turn from my old selfish ways and trust You to lead me down beautiful, sweet paths. For Your name’s sake Lord, and for Your kingdom.

Let’s take 30 seconds to meditate on this verse: Pleasant words are a honeycomb, sweet to the soul and healing to the bones. Proverbs 16:24

Wisdom Wednesday posts are inspired by a verse from the chapter of Proverbs that corresponds to the posting date.

About frontlinemama

I am a mom who is passionate about equipping moms and parents to help their children through the challenging times we live in today.

Leave a Reply

