By Tara Cherry

Having two children as close together in age as my two (my daughter Bear, two years, and my son Lion, almost nine months) causes for many a humorous moment. There are always things like simultaneous blow out diapers, and the obvious moments of hilarity like pasta in the hair. But it’s the unplanned, unusual funny times that make life so very sweet.

A few weeks back, I was nursing baby Lion to sleep for his afternoon nap, when his sister Bear walked our direction with one of her prized possessions: a book. Bear loves books. She sleeps with books. She “reads” her books. She is a bookworm in training.

I was trying to take a picture of dear Bear with her favorite book, when she did what she usually does—she posed. The problem was that my phone camera has a little bit of a delay, and Bear released her pose too soon. Happens. Only her pose included holding the book above her head.

We forgot to factor in her close proximity to brother Lion and the book came down on his head. Lion’s scream immediately followed. Then a look of compassion appeared on Bear’s face. What? She has a nice bone in her body? She looked like she might cry, too.

I quickly moved to comfort Lion, while assuring little Bear that she didn’t mean it, and that is was just an accident and okay.

Nothing would have prepared me for the shock of what happened next. A look of understanding that came across my daughter’s face, and she began beating on her brother with the book! Well, I did say it was okay!

I couldn’t help but chuckle as I quickly removed the book from Bear’s hand and explained that accidents happen, but we do not beat our brother with a book.

Thinking back on that time reminded me of Proverbs 17:17, “A friend loves at all times, and a brother is born for a time of adversity.” Yes, my children will have their squabbles, but it is my job to teach them to love each other and to be prepared to be there for one another.

What “fights” have your children been in lately? What have you done as a mom to insure that peace is the center of your home in those times?

You can read more about all the fun Tara has at her blog Mommy Head Adventures.

2 responses »

  1. thebiblestop says:

    ROFL. Kids come up with some of the funniest things.

  2. Jacqui says:

    That was great Tara. Good laugh and very precious. We tend to forget that they take our words literally don’t they? Sammy is very black and white and I must constantly be careful how I phrase things at times.

Leave a Reply

