Image courtesy of Wendy Pastorius

By Lisa Cherry

Performance enhancing drugs?  I now understand first hand the controversy surrounding these.

I posted earlier today about my losing my voice.  So Thursday morning my larynx still felt like a goose egg and I sounded like a bullfrog. Drastic action was needed.  The thought of a ten day road trip/spring break/speaking tour with eleven people in a 15 passenger van being directed by a mute mama was more than I could stomach. 

I was ready for the big guns.  I picked up the phone and made an appointment for a consultation with our family physician. 

“Oh, I can guarantee to get your voice back and protect your vocal cords at the same time,” he responded.  “And that lethargy you’re complaining about, we’ll whip that at the same time.  Steroids will shrink those vocal cords in no time…and you will begin to feel great….with lots of energy to spare!”

Sounded good to me after ten days of fighting this bug.

After two of my four doses for the first day, I was a new woman!  Talking and laughing and running around packing like there was no problem at all.  I was thrilled!

At bedtime, I took my last dose for the day.

What was that doctor thinking?  At 1:50 a.m. this morning my energy was still surging and I couldn’t imagine sleeping.  We were scheduled to leave at 6:30 a.m. for Tulsa.   I was the mouse running furiously in her exercise wheel—a mouse on steroids.

So what does a Mama do when she’s been behind on housework all week and sleep evades her?  She gets things done! 

I prepped for breakfast, packed the coolers, straightened the refrigerator, and now I am blogging.  When I get done with this, I might hit the elliptical.  I could barely move all week, but now I think I could do three miles!

I had warned the doctor that since I rarely take much medicine, I was likely to experience some heavy side effects of the nervous system.

He looked at my chart and agreed.  “I was going to add Sudafed to your regimen.  But maybe we’d better hold on that one.  You might be too pepped up!”

Good call, doc.

By the way, my typing speed has increased by about 50%.  I wonder if I have time to clean out and reorganize the garage. Tennis, anyone?  Ha! Ha!

Whatever am I going to do at 5:30 am?  I’d better pack a pillow because this Mama is going to need some sleep……eventually!

About frontlinemama

I am a mom who is passionate about equipping moms and parents to help their children through the challenging times we live in today.

2 responses »

  1. Jacqui says:

    Hope you get some much needed rest Lisa, that was too funny! Safe and blessed travels this weekend.

  2. […] Products ← No More Sideline Parenting Funny Friday, Part 2: Mama On Steroids → […]

Leave a Reply

