Image courtesy of Michał Koralewski

By Lisa Cherry

I usually think of blessings (good things) coming as a reward for something good I do. But sometimes blessings come from the Lord for what I do NOT do.

Psalm 1:1 says: Blessed is the man who does not walk in the counsel of the wicked or stand in the way of sinners or sit in the seat of mockers.

Not walking “in the counsel of the wicked” means not listening to or heeding the advice and ways of the unrighteous, lost and worldly all around me. It might mean not taking help from a TV talk show or women’s magazine.

Not “standing in the way of sinners” means not imitating the fleshly actions of those not yielded to the Holy Spirit. It might mean not following my friend’s way of talking about her husband or her mother-in-law.

The “not walking” and “not standing” parts of this verse seem clear. But what does “not sitting in the seat of mockers” mean?

At first glance, we might be tempted to think as believers that we would never be mockers. But the seat of the mocker (or scoffer, as some translations say) tempts me more than I realize.

“Yes, I know God can change people, but I don’t think he’ll ever change.”

“I know God’s word says to turn the other cheek, but that just doesn’t work in my family.”

“Yes, I know God can do miracles, but most of the stuff you hear about is probably fake.”

Cynicism. Doubt. Bitterness. Mocking. And before we know it, we can miss the blessing God has planned for us, and lead our children down the wrong road too.

Lord, right now I agree with Your word in Psalm 1 and I choose to use care in how I walk, stand, and sit. Help me, God, with these three “nots,” that my family and I may experience Your blessings.

About frontlinemama

I am a mom who is passionate about equipping moms and parents to help their children through the challenging times we live in today.

2 responses »

  1. Lisa,

    Just found your website, and LOVE it.

    I, too, had my first of 10 babies in 1984, and have been homeschooling for 20+ years. (After our first 10 bio. babies, we added 2 girls from Ghana, to give us an even dozen.)

    Only frustration with your website … I can’t comment on your posts. Some say, “comments off”. Others show a few comments, but don’t allow new ones. I would love to dialogue with you, through the comments section, as I’m sure many other readers would like, also. The comments section of my blog is such an integral part, so I am wondering why your comments aren’t open.

    I look forward to reading more … and hope to be able to comment in the future.

    Blessings,

    Laurel

    blog: http://imghanaadopt.blogspot.com
    ministry: http://ajourneyoffaith.net

    • gladmomma says:

      Hello Laurel,
      Thank you for comment. We have opened up the comments on past posts. This should correct this problem.

      Blessings,
      Lynne

Leave a Reply

