Photo courtesy of Ramzi Hashisho

By Lisa Cherry

When someone hurts me or steps on my toes in some way, there is a part of me that is eager to jump up and take action. My response is urgent, hot, and primitive. I want revenge!

“Hey, that’s not fair, what you said. Take it back…or else.”

“You were so mean to me. You hurt me and I am going to let everyone know what you did!”

“Just wait until I get done with you. You are going to wish you hadn’t hurt me!”

But revenge never works. It does not correct the wrong or stop the pain. It adds fuel to my negative emotions and destroys my peace.

Revenge just breeds more pain. I end up with anger, turmoil, and bitterness. Whoever said “Revenge is sweet” was mistaken.

There is a better way to deal with our hurts. God’s word warns us: “Do not say, ‘I’ll pay you back for this wrong!’ Wait for the LORD, and he will deliver you.” Proverbs 20:22

My life was radically changed when I learned to trust God when others have done wrong to me. It was a lesson not easily learned, but wrought in me by God in the midst of battle.

Waiting for the Lord is the key. He will take charge when we have been wronged, if we will wait for Him.

Sometimes the justice He works is overt, and someone will either repent, or make restitution. At other times He pours out to us a grace for our own healing while we never know what He does with the person who hurt us. His deliverance delivers our freedom!

Whoever or whatever has wronged you today, are you ready to cast it upon the Lord? Are you ready to repent of your angry words and turn your heart toward waiting for the Lord?

I have found a grace in waiting that is powerful. It is a spiritual force of forgiveness. And it is accessed only through the blood of Jesus and only for those who want it.

Let’s take 30 seconds to meditate on this verse:

“Do not say, ‘I’ll pay you back for this wrong!’ Wait for the LORD, and he will deliver you.” Proverbs 20:22

Wisdom Wednesday posts are inspired by a verse from the chapter of Proverbs that corresponds to the posting date.

About frontlinemama

I am a mom who is passionate about equipping moms and parents to help their children through the challenging times we live in today.

Leave a Reply

