By Lisa Cherry

I was sitting in my bedroom when my little boy came barging in with the most horrifying news.  It seems his brother had hit him and taken his favorite toy forcefully and hidden it in his room.  The tears were flowing angrily down his cheeks, and the brutality of his sibling made my own mama’s heart burn.  “SON!” I found myself shouting upstairs, “GET DOWN HERE RIGHT NOW!”

The “bully” came running down the hall calling out, “Mama, what did he tell you?”

How often has that scene played out in my house in the last 26 years?  So many times, you would think I would have learned my lesson by now.  I often find a little investigative work turns up a few more facts to the story. 

Like the detail that the weeping child “victim” actually started the problem by hitting his brother WITH the favorite toy first.  Or that the whole game was hide and seek, until somebody wanted to change the rules, take his toy, and go to his room.  Details!  Details!  Makes us realize why we have a court of law before anyone is sentenced to jail.

I think that is why we are warned in Proverbs 18:17, “The first to present his case seems right, till another comes forward and questions him.”

Always listen for the rest of the story.  This works for parents as well as husbands and wives, bosses and employees, friends and neighbors, and newscasters and listeners.  Hasty judgments have cost me a lot of needless conflict and confusion. 

If a story seems a little too strange to be true, stand by for the adjustment!  Pray for the wisdom and discernment to see the whole truth before you accidentally take hasty action. 

That little bible verse can keep us out of a heap of trouble.  As you use it today, will you write me back with how it worked to save you from the wrong action?

Wisdom Wednesday posts are inspired by a verse from the chapter of Proverbs that corresponds to the posting date.

Image courtesy of Domagoj T.

About frontlinemama

I am a mom who is passionate about equipping moms and parents to help their children through the challenging times we live in today.

Leave a Reply

