By Lisa Cherry

We’re on our family trip to the Great Smokies. Yes, all sixteen of us! My job? Hold us together in order. Here’s how I’m doing this.

I spent three hours in the car on the way here with my notebook. An inspired plan I think. Divide the crew into four teams. Plan all menus in detail. Then assign a team for cooking and one for cleaning at each meal.

Day One has come and gone, and we did it in joy. I was so pleased. A great time was had by all, and I was feeling a little proud…until the third person informed me they could not find any underwear for Josiah.

“What? Impossible!” I said. I was certain I had carefully packed them in the zipper compartment of his bag. But when he arrived in the van for our family bike ride around Cades Cove underwear-less, I became a believer. So I’m adding underwear to my checklist in the notebook for next year’s trip!

About frontlinemama

I am a mom who is passionate about equipping moms and parents to help their children through the challenging times we live in today.

2 responses »

  1. […] family vacation/trip. Wow, what a smashing success! We had a great week of adventure and bonding. My notebook planner was a great success, and I got to have some personal down time to read. I was tackling a great book […]

  2. kira braun says:

    how funny! my relatives were just in the smokies. must be the place this year.

Leave a Reply

