By Lisa Cherry

I suppose my four year old, Josiah, has heard all the talk about gold lately.  Record high prices.  Gold being the standard even in the midst of economic disaster.  What on earth would go through a child’s mind about these kind of big people issues?

Perhaps that is why he came tearing into my bathroom this week with a question.  “Mama! Mama!” he screamed, “Is this real gold?!”

He held out in his little hand a small, broken piece of pottery shaped much like a piece of an angel wing.  “What on earth was he thinking?” I wondered.  Until it hit me.  It was painted gold.  Well, at least part of it was anyway!

I hid my laughter as I gently shattered his hopes.  “Sorry son, that is definitely not gold,” I replied sympathetically.

And then it hit me just how crazily vulnerable my children are.  He had heard of gold, but he was not able to recognize the real thing.  So he was sucked into hoping in a worthless counterfeit.

How many counterfeits will my kids encounter even just today?  Stars telling of their “new loves.”  Movies showing a rebellious mess as the “good teen life.”  Church folk who claim they serve Jesus but live just like the world.  How are they to recognize the difference?

Wow, that’s my job as their mom.  I must show them the real deal so they have the right “gold standard!”  My words of description won’t be enough.  Glittery paint on the outside of a fake Christian life will just confuse them further.  That realization is causing me to cry out even stronger for the Lord’s help today.

How about you?  Are you the real deal for your kids to see…or just a glittery paint job?

About frontlinemama

I am a mom who is passionate about equipping moms and parents to help their children through the challenging times we live in today.

Leave a Reply

