Image courtesy of Tiffany Szerpicki

By Lisa Cherry

When I heard of my precious 17-year-old’s recent classroom experience, I was heartbroken. She’s taking a class this semester at our local junior college, and over and over she has encountered the nightmarish tactics that conservative Christian worldview experts have warned us about.

Long classroom discussions on politically correct, “inclusive” language; vicious attacks in class from a fellow student calling her a “homophobe” when she expressed her view that homosexuality is wrong; lectures from her teacher on “tolerance” coupled with disdain for anything but liberal immorality… Truly my daughter is being tested in her faith to stand.

What is a mother to do when her teen is under such pressure? I have considered contacting the school. But what if that backfires on her grade? I have considered having her drop the class. But that will adversely impact her academic standing. So I am left to wrestle it out.

If I did not see her arising, I would pull her out no matter what the cost to grade or finances. But I am watching an amazing sight. God is empowering her to stand! He is strengthening her resolve as the testing is strengthening her faith. Wow! I am so grateful.

Fellow parents, we must equip our kids in new ways. Normal Christianity will not survive the level of persecution heading our way. As you read her recent blog post, will you pray for her—and all our Christian kids—to pass the faith test?? And while you are at it, pray for all the POTTS (Parents of Teens and Tweens) who must disciple the next generation for the remnant!

It began ok, but as time went on, it got worse. I went to speech class at 12:00 P.M., and my instructor was not being fair at all. Our next speeches are due very soon, and they are supposed to be persuasive.  But today in class she started going off on this tangent (pretty much threatening people) that if anyone uses a speech about abortion or anything “Problematic” in her terms, then we had better have some VERY convincing proof. She said this many times to the point where I wanted to raise my hand and say, “Teacher, I shouldn’t have to cater to what you believe is right, that is not what a persuasive speech is!” I decided that it wouldn’t do any good, so I just remained silent, inwardly laughing and arguing over her derogatory attitude. I know she needs Jesus, and my heart aches for the pain and suffering she will one day endure for the way she has openly accused and blasphemed Jesus Christ. All I want to do is find a way to bring life into my class, but every time I try, I get shot down. That is not the way it is supposed to be. I have already decided that I will not remain silent and watch America crumble. I don’t care what it takes; I am determined to do my part! The only thing is that my flesh gets involved very easily. I know the battle is not against flesh and blood, but against principalities of this dark world.  Jesus, help me be a witness to You! I need Your strength. I know you see my heart!
About frontlinemama

I am a mom who is passionate about equipping moms and parents to help their children through the challenging times we live in today.

3 responses »

  1. SoCalLynn says:

    You must be extremely proud of your daughter right now. I had the thought that everything she is witnessing and experiencing in her college classes is only serving to point out the veracity of what we have learned from Jesus through the Bible’s teaching, and thankfully she has been grounded so deeply that she sees what is happening and stands firm on the truth. I hope my daughter will be able to do the same when she takes those dual credit classes in a few years.

  2. Glory to God for the faith, strength, and love in which You illuminate through this teenager, R!
    Praise You, Father, for the wisdom you have gifted her parents. Please continue to strengthen each one of them.

    Isaiah 41:10-
    So, do not fear for I Am with you. Do not be dismayed for I Am your God. I will strengthen you and help you; I will uphold you with my righteous right hand. All who rage against you will surely be ashamed and disgraced. 

Leave a Reply

