Image courtesy of Samatha Leeke

By Lisa Cherry

I love having a little girl around. My Lydia reminds me so much of myself when I was younger, and it is such a delight to hear her sweet take on life.

Never short on words, Lydia does not know how yet to summarize a story for her listeners. When her little mouth starts to move, you may as well pull up a chair, for you will be listening quite a while to everrrry detail in whatever size novel/story/movie she is reporting on.

As a Christmas present I had given Lydia a whole series of Mandie mysteries. And since she had just finished book #7, Mandie and the Charleston Phantom, she couldn’t wait to let me know the w-h-o-l-e story line.

It was a perfect time for her reporting, as I was cleaning and cooking in the kitchen.  I was pretty much a captive audience and was doing a reasonable job of keeping up with her. I was uh-huhhing at the right times and exclaiming at the scary parts.

Suddenly I became aware that Josiah was following me from one side of the kitchen to the other like a little puppy. After almost tripping on him twice, I stopped and looked down at his little face. Terror-stricken was the best description of his look!

”Honey, what is the matter?” I bent down and said to him.

“If Lydia does not stop that story, I will have bad dreams all night long,” he wailed.

I guess he was following her better than I was! Maybe she is a master story-teller after all!

friday favorite things | finding joy

About frontlinemama

I am a mom who is passionate about equipping moms and parents to help their children through the challenging times we live in today.

2 responses »

  1. That’s too cute! My little Dylan gets scared when his daddy and sister tell stories too.

  2. Bob Heren says:

    :-) That’s hilarious!

Leave a Reply

