By Beth Groh

Stepping into your grandparents’ home feels like stepping back into time.

At least that’s the sensation I always felt when going to their homes in Small Town Illinois. The pace was just a little slower. The distractions were few. The time always free to indulge the creative mischief of grandchildren bent on “play.”

There was usually one exception, though, when my sister Lisa and I were at Ging-Gi and Grandad’s house. If Paul Harvey was heard on the radio, we would get, “Shhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh.”

About all I remember of the late commentator was his famous promise to give “the rest of the story” and his dramatic pause at his tag line, “Good Day.”

Sandwiched in between seemed an old-fashioned message preaching morality, sprinkled with a few quirky pauses and dramatic intonations. I must confess: I never quite got his message.

But Ging-Gi and Grandad did … and now, decades later, so do I.

I nearly gasped a few days ago when I heard a replay of his famous, “If I Were the Devil” essays.

Like my grandparents telegraphed to us, Paul Harvey articulated to millions of listeners: the moral, spiritual and political decay in our nation comes from a demonic hand.

To the young I would whisper, ‘The Bible is a myth.’ I would convince them that ‘man created God’ instead of the other way around. I would confide that ‘what is bad is good and what is good is square.’”

Harvey continued with a laundry list of the devil’s schemes to pollute media, subvert families, infiltrate unions and the workplace, and debase schools … until our children faced a world of “drug-sniffing dogs” and metal detectors.

Then in churches I’d substitute psychology for religion and deify science.”

“…I would take from those who have and give to those who wanted until I had killed the incentive of the ambitious.”

This was 1964, although he updated versions of it until 1996.

I look back now and see how the Lord used our grandparents to drop crumbs along in our childhood to lead us to discernment as adults.

I urge you to take a moment…listen to the crumbs dropped in our youth…and prayerfully consider what trail you’re leaving behind for your children, grandchildren, or other precious little ones in your life.

Linking up this  week with

Beholding Glory

One response »

  1. Cherry says:

    Lisa, Chip and I both read this and delighted at the memories…Cherry

Leave a Reply

