This past school year I led our children in a survey course of the New Testament. It was one of the most exciting honors of my life. I took my well-worn, highlighted Bible and shared my favorite scriptures from Matthew to Revelation.

One day my teenage daughter cornered me saying, “Mom, how did you learn these things you are teaching us?” It took me aback.

I wasn’t sure how to answer until it hit me. I have been walking with the Lord for so long that I have years’ worth of highlighted notes that my children need!

Why not be the one who shares these most important words to their hearts?  I was wondering how our study would end up though. I hated to think they would be disappointed with my handling of the last book.

There is still so much of the book of Revelation that I cannot confidently teach them about.  What if I messed them up? Revelation can be a pretty scary book…especially if you are not able to decode all the graphic images.

My worries were totally unfounded. They loved it. The spirits and horns and the smoke were great, but I think our favorite part was the opening five words.

Revelation 1:1 The revelation of Jesus Christ… Wow, so that is the true purpose of this book…To know Jesus more accurately and intimately! I always thought the book was about death, doom and destruction with a few angels thrown into the story.

Why would our kids need to study the book of Revelation?

The answer is becoming clearer to meto gain a heart of honor for their Lord.  …to gain a sense of eternal perspective to their lives.

…to realize that perhaps having the latest Ipad is not going to matter much in the Kingdom  of God.  

…to know Jesus, so they can live their lives making Him known.

It’s such a simple thing, to pick up the Bible and read together…to admit that we might not understand every verse, yet to know that the central message is clear.

Jesus is coming back some day. And He is coming for a church without blemish and wrinkle.  Our kids need that voice of holiness coming toward them past the voice of “mom’s rules.”

I challenge you. Dare to pick up Revelation with your children. See what the Lord does in your hearts.

I am so excited about this that I am taking that challenge to my ladies Sunday school class this summer too.

 Let me know what happens in your heart and your home when you do!

By Lisa Cherry

Author of Unmask the Predators

 Image courtesy of Wikipedia

Linking up to Visionary Womanhood, The Better MomMonday’s MusingsModest Mondays,  and Big Family Friday.

About frontlinemama

I am a mom who is passionate about equipping moms and parents to help their children through the challenging times we live in today.

7 responses »

  1. […]  Our kids need that voice of holiness from God’s word coming toward them past the voice of “mom’s rules.”  Read my post A Scary Book That Could Be Good For Your Kids. […]

  2. We read together before school and sing hymns. It is always a blessing. Thank you for the encouragement to read the bible together and for linking up at WJIM.

  3. My mom started reading through the Bible with a simple translation when my brother and I were 8 and 9. When we reached our teens, we added in a chapter of Revelation or Daniel depending on the day of the month.
    She never “explained” it to us, but I know it had a big impact on my life. Of course, I’m not easily persuaded by people who are convinced that certain symbols in these books “must” mean something specific in our time….
    “Blessed are they that read and those who hear;” Revelation is the only Bible book with that promise!!!

  4. Judith says:

    Popped over from the Modest Mom. Such a good idea!!

Leave a Reply

