I was walking the hallways of the church yesterday when my son jumped out of his office with the phone in his hand.

Mom, this lady just called in to buy a resource. She is very upset and really needs to talk to you. Can you talk to her?

I ducked into a nearby office and asked how I could help.

Her story immediately brought tears to my eyes.  Christian family…Christian school…14 year old daughter…Sexually abused by the “favorite” teacher in the school….Media camped out on the parent’s front lawn…

Teacher arrested after a stack of letters from him to the girl found….Started with sweet little “nice girl” encouragements…He liked to cheer for her at the sporting events….Asked her to sit by him on the school  bus trip….

Until one day he touched her…..So she brought her parents the letters she had been saving for many months…Explicit tomes that made her parents gasp….

Now many of the students in the school are mad at the girl for removing their favorite teacher…Even some of the teachers shun her in the halls…

And the mother received an anonymous letter of apology from another mom whose daughter had also been abused and parents had not told…

In a news story related to this family’s case, the prosecutor was quoted as saying…. “We’ve definitely seen an increase in the last two-three years in situations where adults or caregivers such as teachers or coaches have been involved in improper relationships with those under their care.”

The prosecutor also said it will be a tough case even though the evidence is clear.

This mama is crying herself to sleep.   Her story hit buttons on the inside of me….Memories that I did not know were still raw. I felt her pain as the sea of regrets threatened to sweep us both away into a land neither of us wanted to visit.

We were both intelligent women with strong protective homes. This was not supposed to happen to our children!

Why had we not learned the truth about predator grooming behaviors before we and our girls were deceived?  As our hearts were knit together by our common pain, we recognized the poignancy of the moment.

Only 3% of sexual offenders will ever see a jail cell. But 100% of mamas want their children protected and whole.

What if we dared to tell other moms our stories, we began to conjecture? What if they began to believe us?

The statistics do not lie: the chances of your child encountering a sexual predator exceed the chances of your child contracting many of the dangerous diseases we rush our kids to doctors to prevent.

Would the answer to Unmasking the Predators be as close as the mamas stepping into the cause?

I do not know exactly what the Lord would have my new friend and I to do together yet, but I asked her permission to tell you part of her story today. She asked me to do just that. She is too weak right now to tell you herself.

Frontline moms, I am convinced you are reading this today because we are called to make a difference. Will you help my friend and I warn other moms and equip them with the information and strategy they need?

I know this is not a comfortable topic. It is “sticky” and offensive by very definition. But it is one that will not be going away as our world spins deeper and deeper into perversion.

I know somehow the Lord will equip us to battle for our children’s purity even as it feels like a David and Goliath fight.

I am looking for at least 50 Frontline Moms (or dads or grandmoms) who will help us today by:

1. Sending this post to five of your friends and asking them to become a Frontline Mom by joining this blog site.

2. Go buy a copy of Unmask the Predators at a bookstore or online vendor today. Read it. Grasp deeply this concept of grooming. And then pass it on to a friend. (All my author proceeds I will put back into helping more families like my friend today.) If you truly cannot afford to buy your own copy, email me. (Lisacherry9@aol.com)

3. Pray for the grace and wisdom for us at Frontline Family Ministries as we earnestly seek to assist parents in Unmasking.

4. Message me back to let me know you did 1-3.

I have seen the Power of Moms before. I believe it is our turn now!

By Lisa Cherry, Author of Unmask the Predators

Image courtesy of Sanja Gjenero

Linking up to  Weekend Whatever.

About frontlinemama

I am a mom who is passionate about equipping moms and parents to help their children through the challenging times we live in today.

5 responses »

  1. I’m sorry to put this on such a serious post, but I’ve just nominated you for the Mrs. Sparkly’s 10 Commandments and the One Lovely Blog Award.
    I really appreciate you speaking out on the serious side of raising our children. May God continue to work in and through you.
    http://wp.me/p2hJoD-194

  2. Traci says:

    wow! thanks for sharing! I will be praying for their family! I felt her pain too as I read it…

  3. Scott says:

    While it is difficult at many levels to face and confront this tragic issue, God’s word clearly says “Have nothing to do with the deeds of darkness, but rather expose them.” Eph 5:11. We’re called to be “Salt and Light” Matt 5:13. So this is a gospel ministry.

    We know from studies that those who were abused as children (sexually, physically or verbally) are far more likely to become abusers when they grow up. Part of the dynamic the abused need to overcome/not fall into is “bitter root judgment”. So it occurs to me that we should be praying over those who were abused that they get the ministry they need and get healing before they in turn abuse others.

    I’m not saying that you need to take up an additional ministry to “abusees”, but it would be good to pray that others would see that harvest field and labor in it with God’s anointing. And if any know of such ministries, it may be helpful to post some contact info.

    Final thought about not only this post, Unmasking the Predators and Frontline Families overall is Rom 8:19-22 “For the creation waits in eager expectation for the children of God to be revealed. For the creation was subjected to frustration, not by its own choice, but by the will of the one who subjected it, in hope that the creation itself will be liberated from its bondage to decay and brought into the freedom and glory of the children of God. We know that the whole creation has been groaning as in the pains of childbirth right up to the present time.

Leave a Reply

